Elon Musk to Launch SpaceX Tomorrow Morning

Original Post: Tomorrow May 19th, SpaceX will become the first commercial company in history to attempt to visit the International Space Station. You can watch the launch live on SpaceX.com beginning at 1:15 AM Pacific / 4:15 AM Eastern / 08:15 UTC.

For more information you can check out the company’s press kit.

Elon Musk’s SpaceX Dreams 

Billionaire entrepreneur Elon Musk hopes to make history when his SpaceX Dragon Capsule attempts to become the first privately-built spaceship to dock with the International Space Station.

President Kennedy: “I believe that this nation should commit itself, to achiving the goal, before this decade is out, of landing a man on the moon and returning him safely to the earth.”

Elon Musk: “It’s it’s been 43 years since 1969 and what have we done?!”

Well, tomorrow morning we are all going to see if SpaceX did it or not. If the launch of the Falcon 9 rocket is successful and the Dragon capsule docks safely with the International Space Station, then, the era of commercial space travel has officially arrived.

Good luck Elon, it is time to show the world what you have done!

Update for May 19, 2012: The SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket aborted launch half a second before lift-off due to unusual pressure readings in one of the nine engine combustion chambers under the vehicle. The launch has been delayed by at least three days. To find out more click here.

Update: The SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket soared into space from Space Launch Complex-40 on Cape Canaveral Air Force Station in Florida, carrying the Dragon capsule to orbit at 3:44 a.m. EDT on Tuesday, May 22, 2012 (photo credit: NASA)

YouTube Preview Image YouTube Preview Image

Update for May 23, 2012: SpaceX founder Elon Musk says witnessing the launch was like winning the Superbowl.